All for the love of a Dog!

by christiborden

Macie, The Wonder Mutt

Our loving Macie who died 2/20/2011

Day one after my sweet loving companion has forever left my side and I am slightly numb. Day two and it promises more of the same.

I still walk gently in the dark to avoid stepping on her. I still wait for her to peek around the corner to see what I am up to. Cats had nothing on her curious nature. My daily routines so wrapped around her needs that I must now reorganize my day. Every little task, a memory of her. Something so simple as pouring that first cup off coffee…her signal that it was time for her treat and a walk to her lake. Pavlov’s theory in full force, although I am not quite sure I wasn’t the one being trained to respond.

Amazing how much our lives become entrenched with those of our pets. When the kids flew the nest, the dog and I developed our “you and me, pal” attitude to get through our day. We eventually settled into a comfortable partnership that filled the void left by their departure. We both loved when our boys and their smelly friends blew in for weekends and holidays. The house then filled up again with laundry, fun and laughter. She would give me that knowing look that said, “ah, this is as it should be”. Both of us sad to see them go but also content with a home at peace.

Quiet… now it is all too quiet and suffocating. I know this will pass. I welcome the day when I can replace the searing pain of loss with the sweet joy of memory. I know in my heart that she was loved and returned that love completely. I know she is not in pain. I know that if dogs have souls, hers is shining above with a bright light, a wet nose and a wagging tail. And for her brief time on this earth, I thank God that I was her Human.

11 Responses to All for the love of a Dog!

  1. Tracy Bogiel says:

    A beautiful tribute to your precious Macie. XOXO

  2. Sue Kramer says:

    Christi. I totally feel for you, as pets become one of us from day one, and the really good ones steal our hearts so innocently. Please just take it one day at a time, and know you are loved by many who totally understand. Set up a memorial to your precious and look at it each and every day, to thank the Lord for giving you and your family such a loving companion for so many years. No other pet will ever mean as much, but you wouldn’t want that anyhow. Cherish the memories. They sound fantastic…The pain will lessen each day. You were all a god send to your baby also…

  3. Cathy Trevino says:

    This will pass and you will be filled with great memories of laughter from all the great times you had. X & O’s my friend!

  4. Kelly says:

    My daddy is still waking up at 4 a.m. to walk Zoe… who has been gone since August. Love and hugs to you and Danny. Dori insisted on wrapping your GS cookies with bows because she thought it might make you smile…

  5. April Maestri says:

    Beautiful Christi. Sweet Macie was loved beyond measure and lucky to have had you and Danny and the kids in her life. I will always remember her as the dog who smiled. 🙂

  6. christiborden says:

    Thank you so much for your kindness. There is a reason I surround myself with wonderful people. I am truly blessed.

  7. Linda Burnett says:

    What a SWEET picture of our smiling Macie…. Christi your beautilful tribute made me cry. You are loved by all…. I hope you are feeling the hugs and kisses coming in.

  8. Nancy says:

    They are brought to us for such a short time I think so we can have more to love. Macie is there with you in more than spirit, this I know because this I have lived. She will be in her favorite spot so talk to her every day.
    It takes some time, she will never be replaced only have new brothers and sisters.

  9. christiborden says:

    I love that I received 3 sympathy cards today. (Thank you, Heike, Richard and our vet, Dr. Purser). Who knew there were pet sympathy cards? I do now and I am grateful. Writing this has been therapy for me. I still hurt and miss her so much. I love how much my friends loved her, too. My friend, Richard, said in his card, “I am sadded to hear about the passing of the Divine Miss M…” That just about summed her up. Thank you again, my friends, for honoring me and Macie with your sweet comments and prayers. I love you all!

  10. Suzie Chancelor says:

    My heart goes out to you. I’ve been in your shoes more than once and it truly is like losing a member of the family. One with unconditional love. One that their lives rise and set in only your presence. I am very sorry for your lose. In the past, I’ve always gone out and found me a new friend.
    Love ya,
    Suzie

  11. Suzie Chancelor says:

    My heart goes out to you. I’ve been in your shoes more than once and it truly is like losing a member of the family. One with unconditional love, one that their lives rise and set in only your presence. I am very sorry for you lose. In the past, I’ve always gone out and found a new friend.

Leave a Reply

