Annual Pilgrimage to Jefferson aka Girlfriend’s Weekend Here We Come!

In a few short days, my friends and I will head off to Jefferson, Texas for one of my favorite getaways to attend the 11th Annual Girlfriend’s Weekend – a wonderful and wacky mash-up of over 70 authors and 500 or more of the readers who love them… with a bit of camp and kitsch thrown in as only Kathy Patrick  can provide.

Kat is the owner of the Beauty and the Book Salon/Bookstore, Founder of The Pulpwood Queen’s Book clubs, Founder-Organizer-Director and Head Queen of the Girlfriend Weekend and author of the book that started it all, The Pulpwood Queen’s Tiara-Wearing Book-Sharing Guide to Life.

This is my fifth year to make this pilgrimage and you may wonder just what is it, exactly, that keeps me coming back?

As an avid reader, I look forward to meeting and getting to know the authors whose faces peer down at me from the spines of my favorite books. There is something magical about watching and listening to a writer passionately share what inspired their creations. It helps me realize that many of them are really just like you and me… only wittier, more talented and with a much better agent!

While I know why I go, what do the writers get from it? I am not saying it isn’t fun but some of the presenters are just plain famous… widely published authors, well-known and celebrated throughout the New York literary scene as well as in Hollywood and Washington.

Jefferson is a sweet town with lots of local color (and a ghost or two) but what on earth must they think of it and us? What is it that brings them to the middle of NOWHERE for what is surely the most unusual literary event in the world? I would guess that the promotion side of their business is very hard work and tedious. Through all their travels to junkets, book fairs, conventions, etc., could it be that nowhere else are they allowed to fully relax and truly enjoy themselves while surrounded and supported by peers and fans? Could it be the only place where they can get a little silly? And believe me, they do get silly. We all do! That is half the fun and that is the very thing that keeps me coming back, year after year.

With an amazing line-up of talent such as Fanny Flagg, Pat Conroy, Jeanette Walls and 70 plus fabulous authors attending, this could very well be the best event to date. Although this year’s Author Extravaganza is SOLD OUT, I encourage you to check it out and join us next year. It promises to be a one-of-a-kind experience that will keep you coming back for more.

Stay tuned for more posts as I blog live from the event and happy reading!

3 Responses to Annual Pilgrimage to Jefferson aka Girlfriend’s Weekend Here We Come!

  1. Kimber says:

    If you can’t get away for an entire weekend, a GNO (Girl’s Night Out) can be fun and a great escape as well.

  2. Book Club Cheerleader says:

    Christi: I look forward to seeing you and the rest of Katy gang! Here’s to another great weekend in Jefferson! Cheers!

    Marsha Toy Engstrom
    Book Club Cheerleader
    http://bookclubcheerleader.wordpress.com

  3. christiborden says:

    Marsha, I love that Kathryn Casey addressed her experiences and will post your blog link on my Facebook and here. Cannot wait to meet you!

Leave a Reply

