Where is your Favorite Place in the World?

Your passport to a truly global real estate experience

One of my favorite things to do is travel and luckily throughout my husband’s career, we have been able to see much of the World.

As a consequence, I am often asked to name my favorite place. Frankly, this is a lot like being asked to name your favorite child. You love each one in their own way and for different reasons. But today is a day for introspection so I will give it a go… I would love to know if you agree with me or can help me see the error of my ways.

Here is my list of My Favorite place(s) so far:

Beauty: Country – New Zealand, North and South Islands and Alaska
Beauty: City – Prague and Paris
Food: Italy, hands down favorite … Hong Kong, Thailand and anywhere in Southern Louisiana
Ancient Ruins: Ephesus, Turkey, Rome and Athens (in that order)
History: Italy, Greece and Egypt
Walking Accessibility: Rome and San Francisco, CA
Friendliest Locals: Costa Rica and Indonesia
Adventure: South Africa and Zimbabwe (at least back when it was safe to visit)
Exotic: China
Most Resilient People: Russia and Hungary
Comfortable/Easy for first-time travelers: Germany and England
Relaxing: Home:).

All time favorite city that I wish to return to the second I leave: Rome!

This is just my list and I know it differs from yours. With luck, this list will continue to grow and change as I change.

Where is your favorite place in the world and why?

7 Responses to Where is your Favorite Place in the World?

  1. Phylis Green says:

    Although I’ve traveled in the US extensively most of my life, I haven’t had the opportunity to see as much of the world as Christi, but I absolutely have loved Nantuckett and North Wales due to the uncanny sense of stepping back in time. Even visiting the ancient ruins in Rome and Athens did not compare with that ‘time travel’ feeling I had in Nantuckett and North Wales.

  2. lerocherhotel says:

    Well, you’ve seen such lovely places, but it seems you are missing your favority place for skiing… We wait for you in the Monterosa Area, maybe Champoluc would become your “number one for skiing”!
    In the meantime, we wish you a Happy New Year, with lot of beautiful journeys!

  3. christiborden says:

    @lerocherhotel… you are correct. I was remiss in best skiing…

    Mayrhoften, Austria
    Corcheval, France
    Breckenridge, CO USA

    But I hope to visit your locale someday. Thank you for commenting and Happy New Year!

  4. christiborden says:

    @phylisgreen I have never been to either and thank you for sharing. Sounds wonderful… do you have any photos to share?

  5. Kimber says:

    I have had the fortune to live in Hong Kong and visit Thailand, Korea, and Japan. While all those places are special in their own right, I think my favorite place to visit so far is Carmel CA. Ocean Drive has wonderful window shopping and a short stroll to the end and you can dip your toes in the Pacific Ocean.

  6. Jennifer Lavender says:

    What a great list. There are so many places that I want to visit, but Germany is at the top of my list so it’s good to hear people think it’s good for newbies to the world traveling game. I hope you have many more wonderful travels.

  7. christiborden says:

    @jennifer… we loved Germany. It was so easy to get around (we traveled by rental car and by train), the locals are very friendly, you can get by with minimal German as English is spoken everywhere, the food is very good, the beer is wonderful, and you will love how neat and clean this country is. They really take pride in their nation and it shows. Oh, and you will find yourself stopping the car to take photos of every beatuiful village along the way…trust me, you will need a huge memory card because it is so pretty. Good travels to you!

Leave a Reply

