What Happens When Pets are Abandonded Along with the House?

 

I just read a moving blog about a family pets that are left when people abandon their home to Foreclosure. I know I see the condition of many of these homes and can only imagine what the folks have gone through. Many times, these sweet animals are left with no food or water and to basically fend for themselves. As domesticated animals, that is pretty much a death sentence. 

This story tells how the local Realtors helped find homes for several such animals. Click here to read the article. I want to applaud those guys and gals who have assisted in helping to find homes for the innocent animals. We have a wonderful connection in Grand Lakes, Lisa Lambert. Her email is GrandLakes4Pets@aol.com. She has been instrumental in helping many animals find their parents or foster homes. She is kind enough to send me notice that I post on the Lost Pets page of this blog. Thank you, Lisa, for all you do for pets in Katy. You are awesome. 

So, what can we do? First and foremost, please let someone… anyone know if you suspect there is an abandoned pet. Even if you are not sure, it is better to be safe than sorry. There are plenty of sites that post lost and found pets and we are all happy to assist. 

If you find a pet but are worried about approaching an unknown animal, then it is always better to call a professional to assist. Remember though that many organizations do euthanize animals within a very short time frame so please use caution if you are not sure that this pet has been abandoned. 

If you know of any local organizations in the West Houston Area to assist with pets, please post here. I am always a supporter of CAP (click here to view their site) and we even found our pet, Macie the wonder Mutt, at their facility over 11 years ago. Great pets there if you wish to adopt rather than spend a fortune on a designer dog. IMHO, mutts know they have been saved and end up being more grateful to their owners but that is for another story. 

Just a reminder, if you have lost or have found a pet in the Katy, TX area, please email me christi@christiborden.com or post it to this blog. If you will attach a photo (must be in  jpg, jpeg, png, gif, pdf, doc, ppt, odt, pptx, docx.) format for me to upload onto blog. I am happy to share the information with my readers. Thank you for spending a moment with me today. Keep warm.

5 Responses to What Happens When Pets are Abandonded Along with the House?

  1. Joel Luks says:

    As an animal lover, my heart breaks when I see an abandoned animals. Thanks for the tips of making sure they are well taken care of.

  2. christiborden says:

    Joel, it breaks my heart too. Having a pet is a privilege, not a right. Too many times we see where people abandon or abuse their pets and then are indignant when the abuse is reported. Remember to report abuse and adoption of a sweet mutt is many times better than supporting the designer puppy mills that churn out unloved and over-bred animals.

  3. Glenn Lubel says:

    Christi: I ended up on your blog after viewing your website out of curiosity while taking the epro course. I just wanted to thank you for getting out this type of information about the animals. Thanks for all the efforts you are putting in to the support of these important organizations in your area. I am about to return to real estate sales full time in Pensacola Beach, Florida and will be donating 5% of my commissions to animal welfare organizations in our gulf coast region. We currently have 3 dogs, all local rescues. Thanks again for your support of the animals. Glenn

    • christiborden says:

      You are awesome and thanks for visiting. Keep up the good work. My office mates donate a portion of our commissions on every transaction to The Sunshine Kids, http://www.sunshinekids.org . We all do our part and I appreciate what you are going to do. Keep in touch with me during your re-entry back in the best business in the world. Have a great and successful week.
      Christi

  4. Glenn Lubel says:

    Thanks Christi:

    I am very much looking forward to returning to real estate sales full time and doing it in a way that will allow me to contribute back to the animals!

Leave a Reply

