Social Media… ignore at your own risk!

I had the pleasure today to address an esteemed group of custom builders, members of the Greater Houston Builder’s Association and the subject today was Social Media and Marketing. Marketing for this group has always been very traditional. It is hard to imagine my being able to impress upon them the need to jump into The Groundswell… but I did and they were so interested that we have been asked to come back again to go deeper into this subject.

One of the things I spoke about is that I am the target market for a custom home buyer in Houston. I am a married Female of an age from 35 to 55 (not saying on which range I approach), dual income, heavy saver/investor, empty nester, etc. That said, I asked the audience how they were marketing to reach me with their message. And believe me, it is the woman making the decision here. What man in his right mind would look at his “paid off” home, low taxes, fully landscaped lawn, etc and say to his wife, “Honey, I think we should move…” Yeah, that is not happening.

So how are traditional marketers trying to reach “me”?

How about Print advertisements such as Houston Chronicle and magazines? No, this does not work because I download my Chonicle daily onto my Kindle DX (as well as magazines and books) and I do this for control, ease – only highlights and main articles and no advertising.

Radio? Well, no again… I listen to my iPod and Satelite Radio has effectively allowed listeners to have control over their music and again, avoid ads.

How about TV? Nope… other than the one news channel I watch live… anything else is recorded for later and again, ads are deleted.

So what is my message here? I am a pretty normal gal and not really all that techie but I am what I term “the hidden consumer”. I am hidden in the Groundswell and only respond to those seeking to reach me in my natural habitat.

So what is the lesson here? What worked yesterday, may not work today; and what will work today, most likely will not work tomorrow. Jump in the Social Media Pool… the water is warm and inviting.

Leave a Reply

