Hurricane Ike – Katy, TX update 1:00 p.m. 9/16/08

Things are certainly improving in the Katy Area today. Our power in Grand Lakes was restored just minutes ago so if any of you are staying with friends, I would call your neighbors to see if you are back  on the grid. We are located near the Arbor Lake, North of Fry and East of Peek. It was a welcome sight to see everything in the house come to life.

However, there are still parts of our area without power but hopefully that will be corrected in the days to come. It is my understanding there is no school for Katy kids tomorrow but I will clarify that further later.

If you have areas that still need power, please let me know and perhaps we can get together and implore Centerpoint to get Katy powered up. This morning, Grand Lakes Presbyterian Church help a breakfast for residents without power. That was a very special thing to do and much appreciated by those of us eating breakfast bars and warm bottled water.

If you need help finding someone, let me know and I will see what we can do for you. I wish everyone a quick return to “normal” life and am praying for those that have lost more than just electricity. Take care.

7 Responses to Hurricane Ike – Katy, TX update 1:00 p.m. 9/16/08

  1. SJ says:

    With all due respect. I live in Katy, and I enjoy reading your blog, but as the lastest update from Centerpoint at 8pm last night, Katy is not suffering the power outages that the City of Houston is suffering. Is there some reason that God should love Katy residents more? Centerpoint is working their behinds off to get power restored to everyone… your “imploring” will take up their valuable time. Did you think about what the electric companies could do with the time they are using to hold press conferences and provide reports as to their progress? I am happy for you that you have power. Do something positive now as a humble servant of Christ – bring the supplies you can now live without since you have power to a home or family who doesn’t have electricity. This right here is the reason we have the reputation we have out here in Katy as spoiled yuppies. Because here we are whining about a free camping trip and survival lesson with the family in front of people who have been left with nothing and in some cases less than nothing with the loss of their loved ones.

  2. christiborden says:

    SJ, I certainly did not mean to disrespect anyone at this time. And yes, I stated over and again that Houston certainly fared worse than we did. I was simply trying to keep those with loved ones in the Katy area informed as to what their family and friends were going through.

    I have already spoken to neighbors about setting up a drop off point for the extra water supplies to see if the City of Houston can use them to distribute to those without a good water source. If you have any information on how we can galvanize the good residents of Katy to help that less fortunate, please let me know and I will assist in any way that I can. It may take approval from the City of Houston, but I agree that we should all help where we can as this will be a long recovery.

    Take care and God Bless you and yours.

  3. Mompaca says:

    Thank you so much for keeping Katy posted through your blog. I did not know that a church was offering meals to area residents.

    I am posting a link on my site about your blog. There were a couple of comments left on my blog where people trying to locate loved ones. Thanks for offering to help people.

    Take care to you and your family.

  4. Patricia Huerca says:

    I just found this website.
    We have electricity. Before the storm, I put water in plastic containers in the freeze to make ice. We were out 36 hours so the ice did not melt much. I have enough ice to fill a large cooler plus 2 smaller ones.It was mentioned that you and people in the area can not find ice. It was mentioned that you live near 1-10 and Fry. We live near Barker Cypress and Clay. If you are interested, I could met you with your cooler somewhere at I-10 and Fry.

    Patricia

  5. christiborden says:

    Mompaca: You are so sweet to link to my blog. I hope that I have helped someone during this trying time. I have enjoyed being in contact with folks all over the world with connections to our wonderful Katy Area.

    Patricia: I thank you for the offer. We are finally back on but there are lots of people who would appreciate your ice. We are trying to figure out a way for Katy residents to contribute the extra water supplies that they no longer need. If you are interested, perhaps we can create a collection point and help distribute this through the City of Houston Mayor’s office. I will contact his office tomorrow to see if they could use our water for distribution. Take care and if I get a response of a resident close to you that would like to meet you for the ice, I will certainly contact you ASAP.

    Today we are enjoying a fabulous evening with cool temperatures and clear skies – may all be as comfortable as possible tonight and I pray for their continued comfort tomorrow.

  6. SJ says:

    Christi –

    I apologize for my harsh tone, but I COMMEND you for making this effort!!!! I am so proud to be your reader. Post where to bring supplies, and I will drum up as much as can in my neighborhood.

    SJ

  7. christiborden says:

    SJ: I truly appreciate you and your comments. Let’s see if we can get something wonderful pulled together and will post all information here. Thank you again for contributing and have a safe evening.

Leave a Reply

