Hurricane Ike – Katy, TX update 9:40 a.m. 9/13/08

40 a.m. 9/13/08

Katy skies at 9:40 a.m. 9/13/08

Whew, Katy appears to be fine… for all of you concerned about your loved ones. We shut down the computer to reserve battery power as our electricity is still out. In fact, we may be the only neighborhood in Katy without power… Hello, Reliant Energy…anybody out there? Our power shut down while skies were calm and still so whatever the issue is, they cannot blame it on Ike.

The winds raged all night long at gusts of 75 or so, intermittent lightning, and light rain. We are now getting a nice rain accompanied by winds that while still strong, are nowhere near last nights’ intensity. We were very lucky to have been so close to the eye of the storm and on the less dangerous side.

40 a.m. 9/13/08

Katy street scene 9:40 a.m. 9/13/08

I hope that everyone else is okay. It does look pretty bad for Galveston and other parts of the city closer to the coast.

I looks like a great day to read a book or watch a movie… oh, yeah.. we have no power:). Take care all and thanks for visiting.

11 Responses to Hurricane Ike – Katy, TX update 9:40 a.m. 9/13/08

  1. Mike Balog says:

    Christi, we haven’t met, but thanks very much for the post! We had to be out of the state on a previously scheduled trip and have not been able to reach anyone in our subdivision, just up Grand Parkway from you. Not to diminish the difficulties you’re facing, but it is very good to see that it does not seem to have been as bad in Katy as the pictures of Houston I’m seeing on CNN. Thanks again!

  2. Katie says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. I live in Canada and my brother recently just got married to a Texan and they both reside in Katy. We have been worried sick about him during this whole hurricane thing and your posts put some relief into our hearts.

    He is just talking to my Mom now, so hopefully you have power back now.

  3. hetal upadhyay says:

    thanks for the post – i have not been able to contact my sister in Katy but it sounds like you guys are all ok. Hang in there and hopefully things will return to normal soon.

  4. Diane says:

    Hi- I have an uncle and aunt who live in Katy and wondered how things were there. I don’t have their phone number to call and just assumed everyone in that area had lost power- so I didn’t even bother to email them. The press photos from the Houston area are showing horrible damage.

    My husband and I live in hurricane country (Florida) also and experienced hurricanes Frances, Jeanne and Wilma- all in a 13 month period, so we know the fear and anxiety involved. We also live inland and escaped relataive unscathed.

    Thanks for putting my mind at ease that the Katy area is looking good. I’m sure my aunt will email me soon to let me know all is well. I’m glad I came across this site when I was searching for info about Katy and Hurricane Ike.

  5. Scott says:

    HEllo,
    Well Praise God that you and the area is all right. Where in Katy are you at? We live near the Katy Mills Mall…but we were planning to go to San Antonio…so we are there. Is traffic flowing on I-10 east bound?
    Please advise,
    Scott

  6. Lucy says:

    Hi,

    My family is in Katy, TX and I live on the west coast. I spoke to them a while ago and they said that they are fine. It was very windy last night. I hope the power goes on soon. They too are without power.

  7. Sheila says:

    Victoria Lakes lost power too…. but we’re back up!

  8. Debbie Mitchell says:

    Thank you for the info on Katy! We’re in Dallas, and it helps so much to be able to hear from someone who is in Katy, so we can make our plans to return. We’ll keep reading your updates!

  9. Kimberly says:

    Thanks for the hurricane updates! My parents left Katy to stay in The Woodlands with my brother. They have no power there. Mom is wondering if there is any power in the Kelliwood Greens subdivision in Katy? Was there much damage to the area? Again–we appreciate your resposes! Take Care~~

  10. Gwenda says:

    To Sheila or others. My son lives in Houston near the Galleria and has no power, water or internet signal. I’m trying to locate any area’s close by that might have electricity so I can call him and let him know where he and friends might find a hotel room. I know that’s probably not likely, but any info would be appreciated.

  11. christiborden says:

    Wow, I love all of you for connecting. I was completely offline yesterday as my laptop was dead and no power at all. We are still without power but a lot of Katy has been restored. I hope we are on the repair list today as it is mighty warm sleeping in the home without AC. I know, I am spoiled and I have to remember all of those that lost everything.

    I will update my blog to answer some of your questions. But you can go to http://www.centerpointenergy.com and pull up an outtage map. It will astound you! Again, all is calm here today. It rained a bit this morning, which is bad news for those with roof issues. We lost a few shingles, a small tree and our gutter but that is very minor when you look at what has happened elsewhere.

    We drove around yesterday and there were downed trees everywhere. We saw a few homes with roof damage but I did not see broken windows. There is power, it would seem, everywhere in Katy now except our portion of Grand Lakes:). I cannot remember if Kelliwood Gardens had power yesterday but my friend in Lakeforest got her power back late yesterday evening. Falcon Point seems to be online as well.

    More information as long as my batteries last. Take care!

Leave a Reply

