Hurricane Ike – Katy, Tx update 11:10 p.m. 9/12/08

Sorry I could not get through but have reserve battery power and an intermittent Internet service with my broadband card. We in the Northeast section of Grand Lakes lost our power 5 hours ago and I do not anticipate having it restored until after the storm passes. I understand that other parts of Katy are fine and I wish I knew where you live because our home is getting really hot about now:). Otherwise, we are fine.

At this hour, the wind has picked up to fairly strong gusts of about 25 miles per hour but nothing too crazy. I have included photos I took prior to nightfall. I will say this, hurricanes create terrific skies! Everyone on my street is sweating it out and we hope that all of you out there with electricity will remember us and let us borrow ice tomorrow:).

I will most likely be up all night because it is HOT in here and will try to keep up my post as the evening and morning progresses. I thank all of you who have stopped by to view my blog and appreciate your thoughts and prayers for Katy and Houston, TX.

Great skies before the storm

Great skies before the storm

12 Responses to Hurricane Ike – Katy, Tx update 11:10 p.m. 9/12/08

  1. Kayla says:

    Good Morning! I hope you guys are well and that everything is OK in Katy. We have been trying to call different friends throughout the area all morning but havent been able to get through. Hopefully you will get a chance to let us know how everything is going. Our thoughts are with you all.

  2. christiborden says:

    Good morning to you,

    Yes, we are okay. I just spoke to a friend that suffered roof damage, water damage, her fence is down and lost a tree. She is only a mile or so East from my home and her home faces East so that may be the issue.

    I truly appreciate your checking back on us. We are fine. I hope our power comes back on as it is very warm in the house but too messy to go outside just yet. Take care!

  3. Helena says:

    Hello! II hope you all are ok. I am very far from you, in Brazil.
    I have a sister there at Katy. I called her by phone at 5:30 and at 6:30 am this morning and she was ok. Too much wind and rain. But now I can not reach her at telephone anymore, I do not know if the telephone batteries are gone there because you do not have power for many hours. Now I am a little bit worried about what is happening. If you can send me any information when you have power back I woul d apprecite.

    Thanks!

    And good luck!

  4. rebecca says:

    Thanks for posting this blog. we have been trying to get thru to some friends in Katy. This at least gives us some comfort that for the most part, things are ok.
    Stay safe…

  5. Lulu says:

    Has anyone been by the Mason Center where the Empanada House is located? Is so any damage? Thank you so much

  6. Greg Balanko-Dickson says:

    Glad to hear you are doing ok. I was reading via Twitter that Houston power would be out for 4 week. Have you heard anything of that rumor?

  7. Tiff says:

    Hi, I found your blog while doing a search for Katy and hurricane Ike. We moved from Katy 2 yrs ago, we lived in Grand Lakes on Bell Hollow, back to Maine. I loved Grand Lakes, but I couldn’t take the Texas heat and the thought of hurricanes(we were there when Rita was threatening), so we came back to a place where we just have to worry about snow, 🙂
    I’m glad Katy made it through alright and hopefully your power will be back soon, I know how hot and humid it gets there.

    Take care and God bless,
    Tiff

  8. Lyn & Bill Kaufmann says:

    Good Morning,
    I hope you can help. My sister and family live in Katy and we haven’t heard a thing.
    They live Silver Cedar Trail, Zip 77449. Is that area okay?
    Thank you,

  9. christiborden says:

    Good morning to you all,

    Lyn and Bill: I do not know the specific street of Silver Cedar but have not heard of any major damage to that part of Katy located north of I-10.

    Tiff:I am sorry you left Grand Lakes as I am sure your neigbhors miss you. Yes, the heat is bad but I used to live in Dubai, UAE where temps reached 120 and more and humidity was 95% so Katy does not feel all that bad. The only thing is the dew point is so high that without AC, you could cut the air in my home with a knife:).

    Lulu: I passed by the Empandada place yesterday and do not remember any damage. It should be fine.

    Greg: if you go to http://www.centerpointenergy.com and pull up their outtage maps, you will understand the massive chore they have ahead in restoring power to the 4th largest city in the US. I feel bad when I complain about my lack of power when so many areas have nothing.

    Rebecca: Thank you. I hope that some were relieved to hear that Katy was not hit hard by Ike as compared to other areas that the mainstream media will focus on. No, you will not find Geraldo visiting our city streets:).

    If there is anything else I can do, let me know. I am shutting down for an hour or so to conserve my batteries. Take care and please say a prayer for those that have been hardest hit by this incredible storm.

  10. Lyn & Bill Kaufmann says:

    Thank you so much for your reply, I hope they are all okay. My sister is not well and this could take such a toll. Her son and daughter-in-law are there to take care of them and that’s why I was surprised I hadn’t heard anything.
    Thanks again.

  11. Martha says:

    Good to read – that you OK. We try to call our family up there in Houston/ Katy USA. no chance. So – we hope too – everyone is OK – over the Ocean. Greetings from Germany

  12. christiborden says:

    Hi there,

    My batteries are charged but still no power and intermittent cell coverage. I will update with photos but they are only on the South side of Katy. It is my understanding that the damage is more widespread north of the Interstate as that area fell on the “dirty” side of the eyewall.

    People are up and moving around. Restaurants are open (some of them at least). Gas stations have gas and grocerty stores have stock. Ice is still a precious commodity due to the massive outtrage still not resolved by Centerpoint.

    I would give your loved ones anther day as it is hard to get the word out. Obviously my little missive about the storm has been popular due to that very fact. I will have more updates as they become available. Take care and cross your fingers for power.

Leave a Reply

