Hurricane Ike – Katy, Tx update 6:30 p.m. 9/12/08

30 p.m. 9/12/08

Kids and neighbors at 6:30 p.m. 9/12/08

Just at this very moment, we have lost our electric power in Katy. We are in Grand Lakes so I do not know if this is area wide or just our street. I would appreciate reports from other areas in West Houston.

At this time, the gusts have increased but there are still periods of calm. The skies are cloudy and you can now feel the effects of the first wave of outer bands of hurricane Ike. The still shots do not really show the movement of the vegetation but we are starting to realize that a storm is truly coming our way.

As you can see, there are a few kids riding bikes and parents watching closely but for the most part, all is quiet in Katy, TX. I will make another update within the next two hours as I expect our conditions to certainly deteriorate quickly. I will keep my updates short as I will be working off of limited battery power. I just heard that Mayor White is predicting that there will be over 125,000 homes damaged or destroyed and over $ 81 Billion dollars in damage. Many are feeling that the warnings being issued from the Homeland Security offices as well as the Hurricane Center are the most dire in decades so we must be very mindful that this will indeed be different from Rita and more recently, Gustav. 

30 p.m. 9/12/08

Katy home at 6:30 p.m. 9/12/08

I would love to hear how others are doing in the Great Houston and Galveston areas. Please keep us informed as to the storm affects in your area.

One last minute reminder to you all:

  • Fill bathtubs for extra water
  • Locate candles and matches or lighters
  • If you power is still on, charge all cell phones, laptops, Ipods, etc.
  • Locate all flashlights and batteries
  • Keep battery operated radio on for urgent messages
  • Place all important papers in safe place
  • Locate a safe place within your home that you can hide from any hurricane or tornadic debris
  • Keep pets indoors
  • Be safe and know the nation is praying for your safety
10 Responses to Hurricane Ike – Katy, Tx update 6:30 p.m. 9/12/08

  1. flipflop4 says:

    Things in Pasadena are getting windy…not yet rainy…curfew in effect.

  2. Marcos says:

    Here over by the intersection of Fry Rd and Clay Rd we still have power but we are experiencing the same conditions for the most part.

  3. jazzyjeb says:

    I live in NW Houston at the Belt and West Road. Our electricity flashed off and back on a few mintues ago. It’s not raining yet. Just a lot of wind.

    Stay safe everyone.

    Janice

  4. TNTK says:

    We are in Katy also…Castle Rock Sub division so a little ways down from you. It is almost 9 pm and we still have power. Just layed the kids down to bed, and we are getting the storm room ready. Take care of your self and the family!

  5. GE says:

    I just discovered your blog this morning and really appreciated the updates from Katy! My brother lives there, so I was very worried for all of you there! Thank you so much for the wonderful pictures and blog entries to the rest of the country!!

  6. Pam says:

    I was just doing a search to find info for my parents without power in Katy Texas. I can tell you that in Green Trails off Fry road there is no power and there is pretty significant structural damage to houses, possibly from a tornado

  7. JAMES THE PLUMBER says:

    WELL IT COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH WORSE. WE LIVE OFF OF KINGSLAND IN KATY AND THERE IS NO ELECTRICITY. FORTUNETLLY WE OWN A GENERATOR AND IT REALLY MAKES A DIFFERENCE. WE DO ON THE OTHER HAND WISH WE NEW WHEN THE ELECTRICITY WOULD COME ON AGAIN. IF ANYONE KNOWS, PLEASE BLOG IT.

    IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OF WHERE WATER OR GAS SHUT OFF VALVE ARE, PLEASE GIVE ME A RING.

    JAMES THE PLUMBER
    (281) 797-6006

  8. christiborden says:

    Hi Pam: yes, there was a bit more damage along Mason Road and Fry Road than on my side of Katy. I did not hear that it was an actual tornado but that would not surprise me. I did see evidence of terrific wind sheer as we drove around the area.

    James: Hi Buddy, yes, it would have been much worse. Do you have power yet? We are still sweating it out but plan to visit a friend tonight to enjoy a few minutes of fanned air and television via their generator. Also, I wil charge up my laptop again.

    For all of you out there, James is a terrific plumber that I know personally and have referred to many of my friends and clients. Also, if you need help with finding a good roofer, fence repairman, handyman, etc to take care of damage cause by Ike, drop me a message here or email me through my web site http://www.ChristiBorden.com. My business email is not functioning due to loss of server and my cell phone is dead.

    It is a good thing I have a connection to the outside world through this blog. Take care all.

  9. Handyman in Jacksonville says:

    Your post is very well crafted and I have learned. Ive added your blog to my reading material. Thanks for the update!

  10. Sands says:

    If there’s a chance you’ll flood or are using candles/lanterns for lighting, include fire extinguishers.

    I save/wash 2 ltr soda bottles every summer, and if we’re in the cone, I fill a few to about an inch below the curve of the bottle, then very lightly put on the cap, and freeze them at about a 20-30 degree angle. I have never had a plastic bottle burst using the above method. Once frozen solid, I tighten the cap as much as possible, and put them on their sides in the fridge, starting at the bottom, then the sides of the fridge, moving all the condiments to the center.

    I try to thaw and dehydrate meat if possible, and eat up as much frozen dinners as possible. The day Ike was to land, I had filled up both the fridge and freezer sides with frozen bottles, and cranked the thermometer as high as possible a few hours before losing power. Once power went out, I covered the fridge with as many blankets as possible (once we set up alternative lighting). I also put a hanging thermometer in the fridge so I’d know when food was safe, and when to toss it.

    I think it was about 4-5 days before I had to move the more valuable fridge stuff to the cooler, using ice our neighbor brought us because we made them coffee with the camp stuff, before gas was turned back on. Most of the freezer stuff was eaten by that time, but I also cooked some things towards the outer edges and fed it to the pets. I don’t think the food would have stayed safe as long if we didn’t have the cool front afterward. Post-Alicia had almost 100F days IIRC, so my insulated “ice box” wouldn’t have lasted nearly as long in that heat.

Leave a Reply

